Throwback Thursday – Secret Omen


Here’s one that might not resonate with my core following but I remember being intrigued by the vinyl cover when I was just a boy.  What I heard further sparked curiosity as to the book of jams that my cool Uncle John always had in tow .  I’m sure the songs he was into were more of the prominent “I Just Want To Be” and “Sparkle” single releases made popular at the time but when I put on the LP, the needle dropped to “Find My Way” which is today’s featured disco track.

“Find My Way” is a makeover of the original produced by “The Three Degrees” in 1972 and Larry Blackmon’s musical experience at  Juilliard shines though in this departure from the Cameo norm – if there is such a thing.  If Prince is a musical genius (of which I’ll acknowledge) Mr. Blackmon is very much the musical innovator.  “New York” is included as another largely unheard rola as I try and post the jams that might fall by the mainstream wayside.

With Peace and Love from the House of Cochi-

Find My Way

New York

Leave a Reply

